week 35: Thank you! - Reisverslag uit Wolverton, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Trijnie Dijk - WaarBenJij.nu week 35: Thank you! - Reisverslag uit Wolverton, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Trijnie Dijk - WaarBenJij.nu

week 35: Thank you!

Door: Trijnie van Dijk

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Trijnie

31 Oktober 2013 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Wolverton

The last week in Wolverton in United Kingdom. A week that I never will forget. It started off with a mixture of both cultures. Monday evening we went out to pick sloes. We had talked about it for a long time, but we hadn´t gotten around doing it. On Monday we went out and found a place where we filled our baskets. The sunset we saw was beautiful, nice colours and a clear silhouette. How great is it, just watching and listening, you don´t need much else to have a nice time. And that is what I have learned in England. If you open your eyes, then you are able to see beautiful things in the nature.
We finished Monday with making Dutch advocaat. Advocaat is mixture of eggs, sugar and brandy. I probably have told people, that my Nan makes a lot of jars of advocaat through out the year. After explaining how to make this nice drink, we wanted to give it a try. So we started off: mixed the eggs, add the brandy and sugar. After a long time mixing we had a nice drink what tasted like homemade advocaat.

Another ´highlight´ of the week was my leaving party. Florie had send out invitations with the question to come and bring some food and dress up in orange. I didn’t know what was going on, so I walked up at the square and saw the oranges flags and knew that must be for me. I came in, surprise.... I didn’t know what to say. Family, colleges, volunteers, Urb Farm supporters, people from churches, friend from London and friends from Wolverton and surrounding: a lot of people came to say thanks and goodbye. It made me realize that in the last 8 months I have made friends and have had a lot of good, funny and interesting conversation. And of course when there is a party, there are presents. Homemade presents, tools, books and cards. I’m really grateful for the book with all the memories, words and photos of the months in UK. We had a lovely evening together, it was good to see and speak to people and thank them for all they did for me.

In my last blog I said that I didn’t know how to say thank you in a right way. There were so many people that give me advise, warm welcome and let me feel at home. People that took me in to their homes, looked after me and shared the best of English food with me. But I thought maybe I could write my last blog in English so that I can show how many good teachers I have had. I have learned all about the English food, the language, having patience, how to teach, how to grow, name plants and the many other things. Thanks for company and gezelligheid (sorry, still not found the right translation). A lot of good wishes where given, thanks for that. I am looking forward to come back and visit at some point, but you are always welcome to come to Holland as well!

Bedankt voor alles!

Greeting
Trijnie

  • 01 November 2013 - 14:41

    Ludy:

    thanks a lot for giving our Trijnie a good home overthere! We have enjoyed as well.
    And isn't she not writing and talking engish well. Great job done! I guess you all had a contribution to this.
    thanks.
    and Thanks trijnie for all your stories and sharing of experiences! well done.
    be good for yourself and i wish you the best for now and in the future!

    love

    Ludy

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigd Koninkrijk, Wolverton

Trijnie

Actief sinds 04 Feb. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 745
Totaal aantal bezoekers 37010

Voorgaande reizen:

04 Februari 2013 - 31 December 2013

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: